UCSD Jacobs School of Engineering University of California San Diego
Pulse Subscribe | Archive | Survey

The Jacobs School is set to double the number of its faculty holding endowed chairs—from 16 at present, to 32. On May 31, Dean Robert Conn announced the first holders of three new chairs: “Our new chairs help us guarantee the quality of our faculty recruitments in coming years, and they have already helped us recruit and reward fabulous people even this year.”'

Sungho Jin
When Bell Labs scientist Sungho Jin joins the Jacobs School faculty in September, he will hold the Kazuo Iwama Endowed Chair for Materials Science. The chair is endowed by Sony, and named after the physicist, co-founder and former president of Sony. Kazuo Iwama was instrumental in the development of such projects as the Trinitron® and the compact disc, and also picked Rancho Bernardo for Sony's first engineering and manufacturing facility in North America.

Sungho Jin is joining the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering department. The National Academy of Engineering member brings with him world-renowned expertise in materials science and nanotechnology. Jin has authored over 200 technical publications and accumulated more than 140 U.S. patents issued or pending. His hiring solidifies the School’s leadership in the area of ultra-small materials for all manner of applications, including implantable medical devices and high-density, wavelengthdivision- multiplexed optical telecommunication networks.


Peter Asbeck
Peter Asbeck is the first holder of the Skyworks Chair in High Speed Semiconductor Devices and Circuits. Cal-(IT)2 founding industry partner Conexant Systems, Inc., a worldwide leader in semiconductor solutions for communications applications, originally pledged the chair. Skyworks Solutions, Inc. is the industry's leading wireless semiconductor company focused on radio frequency and complete semiconductor system solutions for mobile communications applications. The company began operations as an independent company in June 2002, after the completion of the merger between Alpha Industries, Inc. and Conexant's wireless communications business. Peter Asbeck has been a member of the School's Electrical and Computer Engineering faculty since 1991, after spending 13 years at the Rockwell International Science Center. He is a world-recognized authority on the design and development of high-speed integrated circuits, power amplifiers and opto-electronic devices using advanced alternate materials for wireless and other applications. Asbeck currently leads the UCSD High-Speed Devices Group. "We are delighted that Peter will be the first recipient of the university chair named for Skyworks," said David Aldrich, CEO of Skyworks. "Peter is a world-class researcher and we applaud his efforts in developing high speed circuits and power amplifiers for wireless applications based on Gallium arsenide and other high speed technologies."

Larry Smarr
Smarr will be the first holder of the Harry Gruber Chair in Computer Science and Information Technologies. A member of the School’s Computer Science and Engineering faculty since 2000, Smarr is also the founding director of Cal-(IT)². Prior to joining UCSD, he spent 15 years as founding director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications at the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana. He is widely credited with helping to build the nation’s supercomputing centers and was an early architect of the Internet and Web browsers.

The Harry Gruber Chair is named after the co-founder and former CEO of INTERVU Inc., a San Diego-based pioneer in streaming video over the Internet. The chair was jointly endowed by Gruber, Brian Kenner, and Isaac Willis. Kenner was the co-founder and chief technology officer of INTERVU and is currently President and CEO of San Diego-based Learning Framework, a company which provides leading performance management software for mid-market and enterprise organizations. Willis is an Atlanta-based physician and early investor in INTERVU. Both Willis and Kenner are members of the Jacobs School's Council of Advisors.

"Today the School of Engineering is indeed a national treasure, and I am delighted to be able to support the school in its continuing quest for excellence with an endowed chair," said Gruber. "I am especially delighted with the selection of Larry Smarr as the first holder of this chair as he is a world-renowned visionary in modern information technology."

Gruber also founded and led three other pioneering San Diego companies Aramed, Viagene, and Gensia Pharmaceuticals. He is currently founder and CEO of Kintera, Inc., the leading provider of advanced Web-based solutions to nonprofit organizations helping them raise funds and awareness. Gruber did his medical residency, fellowships in allergy/rheumatology and biochemical genetics, and was on the faculty of the UCSD School of Medicine. He has also served on the UCSD Foundation Board of Directors as Chair of the Development Committee.

Kenner has more than ten years of experience in the development and implementation of innovative technology applications in digital video imaging and distribution. He holds seven patents that encompass a range of inventions, including the complexities of multimedia management and delivery within a digital network and enhancement of multimedia playback. Kenner received a B.S. in electrical engineering at the Jacobs School in 1989 and was named the School’s alumnus of the year in 2000.

Willis has a private dermatology practice and serves as a clinical professor of medicine and director of dermatology research at Morehouse School of Medicine. He is credited with the development of several original dermatological drug formulations and devices. He is a consultant to several major pharmaceutical companies, has served on the research committee for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and has been an advisor to the National Institutes of Health. A Fellow of the American Academy of Dermatology, Willis received a B.S. in physical chemistry from Morehouse College and an M.D. from Howard University.

To learn more about endowed chair giving opportunities at the Jacobs School, please contact MaryAnn F. Stewart, executive director of external relations at (858) 534-4039.