UCSD Jacobs School of Engineering University of California San Diego
Pulse Subscribe | Archive | Survey

Faculty Honors

At its 2005 annual meeting in February, the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) welcomed its newest Fellows, including ECE adjunct professor James Lemke. The co-founder of UCSD's Center for Magnetic Recording Research was cited for his "fundamental contributions to the development of magnetic information recording devices and materials, including computer disc drives, tape drives, and signal processing electronics."

Several other Jacobs School faculty members were also recently elected Fellows of their respective professional organizations. The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers cited associate dean and CSE professor Jeanne Ferrante for her contributions to optimizing and parallelizing compilers. IEEE also honored ECE professor Truong Nguyen for his work on the theory and applications of filterbanks and wavelets.

Citing his contributions to high-performance computing systems, the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) elected CSE professor Andrew Chien. He is the only new Fellow from a California academic institution among the 2004 honorees.

MAE chemical engineering professor Jan Talbot is one of only 13 scientists newly elected to the Electrochemical Society. Talbot was president of the society for solid-state and electrochemical science and technology in 2001-02.

James Lemke

Jeanne Ferrante

Truong Nguyen

Andrew Chien

Jan Talbot