UCSD Jacobs School of Engineering
University of California San Diego

Faculty Honors

MAE professor Miroslav Krstic

MAE professor Miroslav Krstic, an expert on control theory, has been named the Jacobs School 's first Harold W. Sorenson Distinguished Scholar. The Distinguished Scholar program, which is intended to recruit and retain outstanding faculty and students, will provide $25,000 per year for five years to support Krstic's teaching, research, and service activities.

MAE professor Farhat Beg received a 2005 Department of Energy Junior Faculty Development Award for his studies on High Energy Density Physics and Applications. Beg is working on plasma-based x-ray devices to image inertial confinement fusion capsules and biological samples.

Three Jacobs School faculty members were elected IEEE Fellows in 2006. ECE professor Yu-Hwa Lo was cited for contributions to integrated optoelectronics materials processing. Alon Orlitsky who holds joint appointments in ECE and CSE, was recognized for contributions to zero-error information theory. MAE professor Frank Talke was honored for his contributions to magnetic recording disk and tape drives.

Structural engineering professor Michael Todd was recently named the Structural Health Monitoring (SHM) Person of the Year by the editors of Structural Health Monitoring: An International Journal . Todd is the co-director of the UCSD-Los Alamos Engineering Institute (see pg. 4) and he initiated a new multidisciplinary graduate degree program in structural health monitoring, damage prognosis, and validated simulations with curricula encompassing four departments in the Jacobs School .

The American Concrete Institute (ACI) honored dean Frieder Seible, structural engineering professor Jose Restrepo and alumnus Eric Hines, '02 of Le Messurier Consultants, for their seismic testing research on hollow rectangular piers designed to support three toll bridges in the San Francisco Bay Area. The co-authors received the Chester Paul Siess Award for Excellence in Structural Research at the ACI's Spring Convention in March. Seible and Hines also received the ACI's Wason Medal for Most Meritorious Paper for the project.

Beginning in March, Fulbright Scholar Alexander Vardy (professor, ECE) will spend 10 months at the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology lecturing and conducting research in algebraic coding theory. The Fulbright scholarship program fosters international exchange by sending some 800 U.S. faculty and professional leaders abroad each year to lecture and conduct research.

In This Issue
Palsson's system: calculating the sum of a cell's parts
Ericsson endowed chair awarded to Larry Milstein
New director at Center for Networked Systems
Printer Friendly Version Email this Story
  << Back to Table of Contents