Skip to main content

Faculty Honors

Yuan-Cheng Fung The National Academy of Engineering recently honored Yuan-Cheng "Bert" Fung with the 2007 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize. Fung, a professor emeritus of bioengineering and the "father of modern biomechanics," was acknowledged "for the characterization and modeling of human tissue mechanics and function leading to prevention and mitigation of trauma."

Dean Frieder Seible Dean Frieder Seible has received a 2006 Humboldt Research Award. The prize from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is one of the most prestigious scientific honors in Germany, given to eminent foreign scholars in recognition of their lifetime academic achievements. Winners are invited to carry out research projects with a host university in Germany. Seible plans to investigate fundamental design concepts to improve structural performance under extreme loads caused by natural and manmade disasters. He will be hosted by the faculty of Civil Engineering at the Bauhaus- University Weimar.

Sungho Jin
Sia Nemat-Nasser
Two Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) professors were recently honored for their contributions to materials science. Sungho Jin, director of the Materials Science and Engineering graduate program, will receive the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society’s (TMS) 2007 John Bardeen Award, which recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of electronic materials. Sia Nemat-Nasser received the American Society of Mechanical Engineer’s 2006 Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award. Nemat-Nasser was recognized for distinguished contributions to the art of experimental, theoretical and computational applied mechanics, including biomimetic multifunctional materials.

Larry Smarr Computer Science and Engineering (CSE) professor Larry Smarr, director of Calit2, received the prestigious Tsutomu Kanai Award from the world’s largest association of computer professionals. He was cited for outstanding contributions in the area of distributed computing systems. Smarr accepted the award March 21 when he gave a keynote lecture at the IEEE International Workshop on Future Trends of Distributed Computing Systems in Sedona, AZ.

Andrew Chien CSE's Andrew Chien was elected a 2007 Fellow by IEEE. Chien was recognized for his contributions to high-performance cluster and grid computing software. He is currently on leave from UCSD serving as director of Intel Research.

Victor Vianu The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has named founding CSE faculty member Victor Vianu a 2006 Fellow, one of just 41 researchers worldwide to be awarded the prestigious distinction. Vianu was recognized for his long-time contributions to database management systems.

Shayan Mookherjea
Prabhakar Bandaru
Two Jacobs School faculty have received 2007 Early Career Development (CAREER) Awards from the National Science Foundation. The awards, each totaling $400,000, support innovative research directions. Shayan Mookherjea, professor of electrical and computer engineering (ECE), will focus on developing chip-scale nonlinear optics utilizing micro-resonators and coupled resonators. The research may eventually enable ultra-high-speed optical networking functionality to be performed by enduser devices rather than only at the network core. MAE professor Prabhakar Bandaru will use his CAREER award for nonlinear carbon nanotube and nanowire morphologies for unique nanoelectronics.

Geoff Voelker
Rene Cruz
CSE's Geoff Voelker and ECE's Rene Cruz have been selected as the Jacobs School’s first Ericsson Distinguished Scholars. Both are working on new concepts in advanced wireless networking, and security issues in largescale wireless networks. This award is a part of Ericsson’s long-term engagement with the UCSD division of Calit2. Along with recognition, the award supports teaching, research, and service activities. The Distinguished Scholar program was created to recruit and retain outstanding faculty and students to the Jacobs School.

Vistasp Karbhari Several structural engineering faculty were recently honored for their contributions to the construction industry. Vistasp Karbhari received the President’s Award from the International Institute of Fiber-Reinforced Polymer (FRP) in Construction (IIFC) in recognition by his peers for his “outstanding contributions as the Editor-in-Chief of FRP International and through other IIFC activities.” Additionally, Karbhari was recently elected a Fellow of the IIFC.

Joel P. Conte Joel P. Conte has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant. The Fulbright Program, a flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

<strong>Steven Swanson</strong> The American Institute of Steel Construction announced SE professor Chia-Ming Uang as recipient of the Special Achievement Award for his contributions in structural steel design, research, and education.