UCSD Jacobs School of Engineering University of California San Diego
Pulse Subscribe | Archive | Survey
 

ER Team Expands

THE JACOBS SCHOOL RECENTLY EXPANDED its External Relations team with three new professionals dedicated to Technology Programs. Abi Barrow, Linda Ferri and Anne O'Donnell are working with the External Relations team to develop and maintain research partnerships with industry, and to foster the transition of Jacobs School discoveries into the marketplace.

"Our Technology Programs professionals serve as a bridge between our faculty and their research, and the outside world," said MaryAnn F. Stewart, executive director of External Relations, who notes that group played a large role in securing industry commitments to UCSD for the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology [Cal-(IT)²]. Stewart explains that the Technology Programs group is an integral part of a wide spectrum of services and programs that support the School's mission to transfer discoveries to ensure societal benefit and economic prosperity.

 

Technology Programs Team

Joseph Bear
jbear@ucsd.edu
Deputy Director of External Relations

 

Linda Ferri
lferri@ucsd.edu
Primary Program: Cal-(IT)²

 
Abigail A. Barrow
abarrow@ucsd.edu
Primary Program: von Liebig Center for Entrepreneurism & Technology Advancement
 

Jeff Nagle
jnagle@ucsd.edu
Primary Programs: Cal-(IT)², Corporate Affiliates Program

 
Anne O'Donnell
odonnell@ucsd.edu
Primary Program: Center for Commercialization of Advanced Technologies
 

Tom James
tjames@ece.ucsd.edu
Primary Programs: Cal-(IT)², Center for Wireless Communications

 
Service
  • networks with industry organizations to stay in tune with technology trends
  • examines the research priorities and needs of Jacobs School faculty and of industry
  • defines partnership structures that help meet those needs
  • secures industry participation and funding for faculty research initiatives
  • facilitates transition of discoveries made by Jacobs School faculty and students into the marketplace