UCSD Jacobs School of Engineering University of California San Diego
Pulse Subscribe | Archive | Survey


John Proakis
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

John Proakis is a prolific writer of textbooks about electrical and computer engineering, and in November, he received the McGraw-Hill/Jacobs Millman Award from the IEEE Education Society. Proakis is an ECE adjunct professor and is affiliated with the Center for Wireless Communications (CWC). The award is given each year to the author of an outstanding textbook in the electrical and computer engineering fields.

Two ECE professors were among 260 new Fellows elected to the IEEE. Rene Cruz, who is also affiliated with CWC, was cited “for the development of a network calculus for characterization on traffic of packet networks”. His new methodology can predict the “burstiness” of the flow of data through packet-switching networks such as the Internet. Shaya Fainman was elected “for contributions to the use of optical nonlinearities for signal processing.” Fainman heads UCSD's Ultrafast and Nano-scale Optics Group. The addition of Cruz and Fainman bring to 19 the total number of IEEE Fellows on the Jacobs School faculty.

Frank Talke
American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE) Professor Frank Talke has received ASME’s First Annual Seagate Information Technology Award for his “substantial life-long contributions to the advancement of tribology of magnetic storage devices.” Talke is an endowed professor with UCSD’s Center for Magnetic Recording Research where he works on micro-mechanical design techniques for ultra high-density disk drives.

MAE professor Xanthippi Markenscoff has been named a fellow of the Society of Engineering Sciences. Also a fellow of ASME, her research focuses on solid mechanics and materials science, elasticity, and fracture dynamics.

Association of Computing Machinery

In mid-December, the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) announced that two CSE professors were named ACM Fellows. Sid Karin was recognized for his national leadership in integrating the academic computer science and computational science communities as founding director of the San Diego Supercomputer Center and the National Partnership for Advanced Computational Infrastructure (NPACI). Separately, George Varghese was recognized for the design of efficient algorithms that have helped scale Internet implementations to gigabit speeds. They join three other CSE faculty as ACM Fellows: Ron Graham, Jeanne Ferrante and Fran Berman.

Chia-Ming Uang
Best Teacher Awards

Professor Chia-Ming Uang received the 2002 Teacher of the Year award from the School’s Structural Engineering seniors for the fifth time in nine years. “I am especially honored to receive this award because it comes from the students. I think they appreciate my style of teaching because I always link the theoretical material to real-world applications and events, and they know that my door is open to them,” said Uang, who also received Tau Beta Pi’s 2002 Outstanding Engineering Professor award.

Other Teacher of the Year recipients include: Mike Bailey (Computer Science & Engineering), Andrew McCulloch (Bioengineering), Laurence Milstein (Electrical & Computer Engineering), and Keiko Nomura (Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering).

Genome Technology

Bioengineering Professor Shankar Subramaniam was recently honored as “High Performance Computing's Highest Guru” by Genome Technology Magazine. Subramaniam directs the Biology Workbench hosted by the San Diego Supercomputer Center and leads the Digitally Enabled Genomic Medicine effort for Cal-(IT)².