Academic Advising

Jacobs School students can take advantage of an array of advising resources to help achieve their academic goals. Students are encouraged to consult with their advisors beginning at orientation and throughout their undergraduate careers.

Engineering Department Advising

Helps students with engineering major requirements and curriculum planning, petitions, regulations, degree checks, etc. Staff advisors can also refer students to faculty for advice on engineering specialization, technical electives and career options.

  • Bioengineering (BENG)

    Powell-Focht Bioengineering Hall (PFBH) 
    WebSite: http://be.ucsd.edu

    Vanessa Hollingsworth
    Room: 141 (1st floor)
    Phone: (858) 822-0006
    Email: vkhollingsworth@ucsd.edu

    Elizabeth Soos
    Room: 141 (1st floor) 
    Phone: (858) 822-1010 
    Email: esoos@ucsd.edu

    Kelly Thorpe
    Room: 143 (1st floor) 
    Phone: (858) 534-7538 
    Email: kthorpe@ucsd.edu

  • Computer Science and Engineering (CSE)

    Computer Science and Engineering Building (EBU-3B) 
    WebSite: http://cse.ucsd.edu

    Veronica Abreu 
    Room: 1234 (1st floor) 
    Phone: (858) 822-4680 
    Email: vabreu@eng.ucsd.edu

    Viera Kair 
    Room: 1229 (1st floor) 
    Phone: (858) 822-1535 
    Email: vkair@ucsd.edu

    Courtney Campbell 
    Room: 1236 (1st floor)
    Phone (858) 534-1754 
    Email: ccampbell@eng.ucsd.edu

    Mary Angell 
    Room: 1238 (1st floor)
    Phone (858) 822-4832
    Email: mcangell@eng.ucsd.edu

    Ana Lopez 
    Room: 1205 (temporary space)
    Phone: (858) 534-8872
    Email: arl001@ucsd.edu

    Tina Rontell 
    Phone: (858) 246-2724 
    Email: crontell@ucsd.edu

  • Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE)

    Jacobs Hall 2700 
    Website: http://ece.ucsd.edu

    Myda Prado
    Phone: (858) 822-0273 
    Email: mprado@ucsd.edu

    Shannon Goodison
    Phone: (858) 534-6395 
    Email: sgoodison@ucsd.edu

  • Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE)

    Engineering Building Unit II (EBU-II) 
    Website: http://maeweb.ucsd.edu

    Nadia Espinoza
    Room: 169 (1st floor)
    Phone: (858) 822-2035 
    Email: nlespinoza@ucsd.edu

    Chad Baldwin (M-Z)
    Room: 180 (1st floor) 
    Phone: (858) 534-0114 
    Email: chbaldwin@ucsd.edu

    Regina Ready (M-Z)
    Room: 182 (1st floor) 
    Phone: (858) 246-2018 
    Email: rready@ucsd.edu

  • Structural Engineering (SE)

    Structural and Materials Engineering Building (SME)
    Website: http://se.ucsd.edu

    Julie Storing
    Room: SME 340B (3rd floor) 
    Phone: (858) 534-4185 
    Email: jstoring@ucsd.edu

    Jennifer Eller
    Room: 340D (3rd floor) 
    Phone: (858) 822-2273 
    Email: jmeller@ucsd.edu

  • NanoEngineering (NE)

    Structural and Materials Engineering Building (SME)
    Website: http://ne.ucsd.edu

    Renee Gramlich
    Room: SME 241A (2nd floor)
    Phone: (858) 822-7639
    Email: rgramlich@ucsd.edu

    Karla Vega
    Room: SME 241B (2nd floor)
    Phone: (858) 246-1444
    Email: k3vega@ucsd.edu

College Advising

Helps students with four-year curriculum planning and general education course requirements for graduation. Learn more »

Don't know who to call? Contact IDEA Student Center for questions on advising.