Research Institute Directors

Institute for Materials Discovery and Design
Michael Sailor, Director
Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
UC San Diego Physical Sciences



California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology
Ramesh Rao (interim director)
Qualcomm Professor in Telecommunications and Information Technologies




Center for Memory and Recording Research
Eric Fullerton
Endowed Chair Professor, Center for Memory and Recording Research (CMRR), and Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering and NanoEngineering



Center for Networked Systems
George Porter (Co-Director)
Assoc Professor, Computer Science and Engineering


photo of Stefan Savage

Center for Networked Systems
Stefan Savage (Co-Director)
Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Irwin Mark and Joan Klein Jacobs Professor in Information and Computer Science



Center for Wireless Communications
Sujit Dey
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Director of the Institute for the Global Entrepreneur



Contextual Robotics Institute
Henrik Christensen, Director
Computer Science and Engineering Professor



Contextual Robotics Institute
Todd Hylton, Executive Director
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Professor of Practice



Cymer Center for Control Systems and Dynamics
Miroslav Krstic
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Daniel L. Alspach Endowed Chair in Dynamic Systems and Control
Distinguished Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering



Powell Structural Research Center
Gilbert A. Hegemier
Professor of Structural Engineering


San Diego Supercomputer Center
Frank Würthwein, Director
Professor of Physics Department
Professor of Halıcıoğlu Data Science Institute (HDSI)
UC San Diego


Andrew McCullough photo

Institute of Engineering in Medicine
Andrew McCullough
Director, Institute of Engineering in Medicine