hidden COVID-19 Updates

Please visit the UC San Diego Return to Learn page for up-to-date campus COVID-19 guidelines.

News Release

Jacobs School Ring Ceremony 2008

San Diego, CA, June 19, 2008 -- More than 350 graduating seniors from the Jacobs School participated in the annual Ring Ceremony on Saturday, June 14. As a group, the graduating engineers recited the Jacobs School of Engineering Graduation Oath (below, right) and took home rings that will serve as a reminder of the pledge they made.

The Jacobs School of Engineering Graduation Oath encourages participants to uphold standards of ethics, integrity, and quality as practicing engineers. Each graduate received an engraved silver ring to be worn as a symbol of their commitment to uphold this oath.

As a graduate of the Jacobs School of Engineering, I pledge to use my knowledge for the public good, to innovate for the advancement of humanity, and to be accountable to future generations. As a member of the engineering community, I dedicate myself to lifelong learning and to the growth of my field. I promise to always conduct myself with honor and to uphold the strong ethical values instilled in me by the Jacobs School. I accept this ring as a symbol of this oath.

2008 ring ceremony

(Top) Jacobs school graduates, families, friends and alumni gathered on Warren Mall to celebrate the achievements of the graduating seniors.

(Below) The silver rings each senior received.




















Dr. Irwin Jacobs at 2008 Ring Ceremony
Dr. Irwin M. Jacobs, Co-Founder and Chairman, QUALCOMM, Inc. gave a keynote address that highlighted engineering responsibilities, ethics, obligations and leadership. Dr. Jacobs encouraged students to become involved in their communities and in politics.

Sammy Lee and family
Sammy Lee, a graduating electrical engineer, enjoys some family bonding at the Jacobs School Ring Ceremony.

The ring ceremony also served as a chance to recognize and honor outstanding students and one top professor.

Jeffrey Mounzer
Jeffrey Mounzer, recipient of the 2008 Jacobs School Undergraduate Student Leadership Award, enjoys a moment with his mom.

Department Awards for Excellence in Leadership and Service
Bioengineering,  Justin Catalana
Computer Science and Engineering, David Zhang
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Sammy Lee
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering,  Irene Chan
Structural Engineering,  Jennifer Heredia-Garcia

2008 undergrad award winners at ring ceremony
2008 Jacobs School Undergraduate Student Department Awards for Excellence in Leadership and Service. (Left to Right) Sammy Lee ECE,  Jeffrey Mounzer ECE (2008 Jacobs School Undergraduate Student Leadership Award winner),  Irene Chan MAE, David Zhang CSE, Jennifer Heredia-Garcia SE, Justin Catalana BioEng. Far right: Frieder Seible, Dean, Jacobs School of Engineering.

Jacobs School Teacher of the Year Award
Professor Paul Siegel


Media Contacts

Daniel Kane
Jacobs School of Engineering